aryanjones

From My Mother's Basement…

From the Diaries of a Camp Kid July 21, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — a ryan j @ 6:28 am
July 21, 2011
Dear Mr. S. K. D. –
     Hope all is going well at camp. Eric says summer camps are for kids who don’t have siblings and who don’t have friends. And there may be some truth to that, as I had neither and I loved summer camps! They were always the highlight of my year; and often times, dreaming of next year’s camp was enough to get through one school year of being highly unpopular after another. I was constantly teased, and almost always felt very misunderstood – except for when I was at a camp, surrounded by my like-minded peers who were searching out similar life experiences as I was. Ah, why couldn’t life be one big summer camp?
I always looked up to my camp counselors – they inspired me; and most importantly, they provided the encouragement I needed to really believe that I could be whatever it is I want to be. I hope you know what an important service you’re providing – investing in our youth, providing an escape for kids who too often get stuck in the present, unable to see the bright future that awaits them, and learning more about yourself all along the way. I am proud of you!
You will never know how many lives you are touching – but know that you have definitely touched mine.
Much Love – a ryan j
 

Leave a comment